Quick and easy

I had a meeting tonight and knew that I wouldn’t get dinner until late.  I wanted something quick that my husband could eat at dinner time and would hold well for me to eat when I got home.  I went with one of my standbys, chicken with pesto and sundried tomatoes.  This is the perfect thing if someone has a late game or practice because it can easily be reheated in the microwave or served at room temperature.  The vegetable gratin was the perfect side.

Chicken with Pesto and Sundried Tomatoes

  • Boneless, skinless chicken breasts (1 per serving)
  • Pesto (prepared or homemade)
  • Minced sundried tomatoes in a jar (packed in olive oil)
  • Pine nuts (optional)

Preheat oven to 350.  Place chicken breasts between 2 sheets of wax paper and pound to about 1/2 inch thickness.  Top each breast with approximately 1 TB of pesto and 2 tsps of sundried tomatoes and then roll up.  Place rolled chicken breasts in a ceramic or glass baking dish and bake 35 – 40 minutes until chicken is cooked through.  I baste them with pan juice about 5 minutes before done (it gives them a nice color.)  If you want to dress them up more, sprinkle with pine nuts.  Serve or let cool and freeze.

Vegetable gratin

This is quick and easy and very adaptable.  Feel free to substitute whatever vegetables you like or have handy or customize with your choice of herbs.

  • 1 TB olive oil
  • 2 zucchini thinly sliced
  • 1 yellow squash thinly sliced
  • 1/4 red onion, thinly sliced
  • 4 -5 tomatoes, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 tsp each oregano, basil and garlic powder
  • 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese

Pour half of olive oil in a ceramic baking dish.  Layer veggies with herbs (I did a layer of zucchini, a layer of red onion, herbs, yellow squash, tomatoes and then topped with zucchini.)  Drizzle with olive oil and top with Parmesan cheese.  Bake at 350 for 35 – 40 minutes until hot.

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

2 Responses to Quick and easy

  1. Celia says:

    So I made the vegetable gratin last night. It seemed like the tomatoes made it watery. I think I also needed to use more herbs to jazz it up a bit. Any other veggie ideas?

    • emenuplan says:

      Celia,

      This can vary based on the size of the tomatoes. You can definitely adjust seasonings to suit your taste – oregano, basil, Italian seasoning, garlic powder, use any herbs that you like and in the summer, fresh herbs are good in it. Other favorite veggies of mine are steamed broccoli (with lemon juice, butter or a little grated Parmesan cheese), oven roasted cauliflower, roasted asparagus, roasted root vegetables (sweet potato, parsnips, carrots, butternut squash roasted together with olive oil, salt and pepper), sauteed zucchini with flavorings of your choice and my recent favorite – brussels sprouts. You can search blog for any or all of these. Let me know what you think.

      Vicky

Leave a Reply

