Dinner in a flash

My husband and I are going to an early cocktail party/meeting this evening.  We’ll probably be there from about 5;30 to 7:00.  I don’t expect to eat a lot there and we’ll want to have dinner right when we get home.  The swordfish is perfect – I’ll get the sauce made before we go so when we come back, I just have to fix the cous cous and my husband will grill the fish and dinner will be ready in a flash.  (Plus swordfish is featured at Graul’s this weekend – on sale and it looks great!)

Grilled swordfish with tomato fennel sauce and cous cous

  • swordfish fillets (6 – 8 oz per person)
  • 1 fennel bulb, chopped
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 TB olive oil (plus additional for brushing on fish)
  • 1 clove garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 28 oz canned plum tomatoes, drained
  • 2 TB chicken stock
  • 2 TB white wine
  • 2 TB capers, drained
  • 2 tsp butter
  • fresh basil, chopped
  • cous cous

In a heavy pan, saute the onion and fennel for about 12 minutes or until soft.  Add garlic and stir in.  Add tomatoes and season to taste with salt and pepper.  Simmer for about 20 minutes over low heat.  Add chicken stock and wine and simmer for an additional 10 minutes.  Add capers, butter and basil and simmer for 5 minutes.  (NOTE: You can make ahead of time and wait and add basil right before serving.)

Brush swordfish with olive oil and season with salt and pepper.  Grill for 5 minutes a side over high heat (either on an outdoor grill or an indoor grill pan).  Fix cous cous according to package directions.

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

One Response to Dinner in a flash

  1. Celia says:

    Yum, Yum, Yum, What a fortuitious meeting at the needlepoint store. My husband and I loved the swordfish. I eagerly look foward to many more delicious recipes. Thanks, Celia

Leave a Reply

