Easter dinner

My sister and brother-in-law are cooking Easter dinner so I know it will be excellent.  I volunteered to bring appetizers.  I made the traditional smoked salmon spread that we all love and thought something else would be nice in addition.  I know that we’ll have plenty to eat (lamb with mint sauce, potato gratin, ham and my husband is hoping that my brother-in-law is making his peas with bacon) so I wanted to keep the appetizers light.  I settled on some mushrooms in addition to the salmon spread.  Here are the two recipes:

Salmon Spread

  • 1 8 oz package cream cheese, softened
  • 8 oz smoked salmon
  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 tsp dill
  • 1/4 tsp tabasco
  • 1/4 cup chopped black olives

Mix all ingredients.  Press in a mound or a bowl for shape and chill.  Serve with crackers.

Spanish mushrooms

  • 1 1/2 lbs mushrooms (I used some button and some Cremini)
  • 5 TB olive oil
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 medium shallots, minced
  • 1 pinch saffron
  • 1 lemon
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • 1/4 cup chopped parsley
  • salt and pepper

Clean mushrooms and halve any big ones.  Heat olive oil in a heavy pan over medium heat.  Add garlic and shallots and saute about 1 minute.  Add mushrooms and stir well to coat with oil.  Increase heat and saute for about 10 minutes.  (You want the mushrooms to give off their juices and then cook until the juices have evaporated.  Add saffron and stir to combine.  Add lemon juice and white wine and cook another 2-3 minutes.  Stir in parsley and season to taste with salt and pepper.  Here they are in the pan:

Sauted Spanish style mushrooms

Sauted Spanish style mushrooms

 

 

 

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

