Brussels sprouts – my discovery!

When people ask me what I like to eat, I usually respond that I like almost everything.  Then I qualify with I don’t like peas, lima beans or brussels sprouts.  On Sunday I decided to try brussels sprouts and discovered that they are excellent!  We had grilled lamb chops (marinated in Worcestershire sauce, salt and pepper) and I made the brussels sprouts as a side.  This is a definite do-over (my husband loved them too) and inspires additional ideas about how to fix them.  (We had a friend over for dinner who cooks hers with bacon and pecans!)  I might even have to try lima beans next.

Here is what I did:

Roasted brussels sprouts

  • 3/4 lb brussels sprouts, trimmed and quartered
  • 2 oz pancetta, chopped
  • 2 TB olive oil
  • fresh ground pepper
  • 1 TB balsamic vinegar

Preheat oven to 425.  Toss sprouts with pancetta, olive oil and pepper in a ceramic baking dish.  Roast for 30 minutes, tossing once.  Remove from oven and toss with balsamic vinegar.  Serve.

Delicious!

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

