Good reasons to make crepes

Crepes are one of those things that sound harder than they are.  I’ve been making them for years and have always used a recipe very slightly adapted from an old James Beard cookbook.  I was flipping through Julia Child’s The Way to Cook and noticed that her recipe was similar but slightly different.  I decided to meld the two together and I was pleased with the result.  There are features of both recipes that I like.  Here is what I did:

Crepes

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup milk and 1/3 cup water
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 TB Cognac
  • 6 TB melted butter

Whisk milk, water mixture into flour trying hard to keep mixture smooth.  Whisk in eggs, cognac and 3 TB of the melted butter.  (All recipes that I have seen call for letting the batter rest but I didn’t have time so I just made them).

Heat crepe pan over medium low heat and then brush with melted butter.  Pour a scant 1/4 cup of batter into pan and tilt to cover bottom of pan (batter should cover pan but not leave excess).  When bottom is lightly browned (1 – 2 minutes), flip with a spatula and then cook another minute.  Remove to a rack as cooked to cool.  When cool, stack and store in a plastic bag in the refrigerator or freezer until ready to use.

Now for the reasons to make crepes – the first is that they freeze beautifully.  The second is that with leftover chicken and some sour cream and Parmesan cheese they made a delicious dinner tonight accompanied by a side salad.  The third is that they do double duty as an entree (with almost any savory filling) or a dessert (with almost any sweet filling).  And for me the best reason is that my fussy 6 year old who often can’t think of anything she wants for breakfast, thinks that a crepe spread with Nutella is a great way to start the day!

Here is a picture of our chicken crepes and salad:

Crepes with chicken

Crepes with chicken

The key differences between this recipe and the way I’ve been doing it (other than subtle variations in proportions) were brushing the pan with butter rather than melting a small bit of butter each time (I found that this made the crepes crisper) and cooling them on a rack (that helped keep them from sticking together).

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

