Battling the “blizzard”

We live in Baltimore and the whole region was under dire warnings for an extremely dramatic winter weather event.  Snow was predicted between 10 and 12 inches, we received a recorded call from the power company advising that if you required electricity for medical issues you should make alternate arrangements and virtually every school in the area closed.  My husband and I were supposed to go to a meeting at our daughter’s school tonight but it had already been cancelled yesterday afternoon.  The bright side is that I had made soup to have after our meeting.  We didn’t have the meeting but we still had the soup and it was delicious!

Celery soup

  • 4 TB butter
  • 2 leeks, white and light green parts, chopped
  • 1 1/2 lbs celery, chopped
  • 2 baking potatoes, peeled and chopped
  • 1 qt chicken stock (I used 1/2 homemade and 1/2 store bought)
  • 3/4 cup creme fraiche
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

Heat butter over medium high heat.  Add leeks and celery and saute until soft, about 5 minutes.  Add potatoes and stock and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer for 30 minutes.

Puree in batches in a blender or food processor.  (I strain some of the mixture through a strainer so it is really smooth and then combine it all back together in the pot.)  Stir in creme fraiche and season with salt and pepper.  Refrigerate until ready to serve – I think the flavors are better if it sits overnight in the fridge.  Serve with a dollop of creme fraiche and a sprig of parsley.

The recipe I started from on this one suggested serving the soup with toast spread with Stilton cheese.  I remembered that I had a log of Stilton crackers from the Barefoot Contessa’s recipe in the freezer.  I defrosted that overnight and sliced and baked the crackers.  They  were wonderful with the soup.

Celery soup with Stilton crackers

Celery soup with Stilton crackers

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

