Grilled pork chops

One of the first restaurant cookbooks that I ever cooked from was Alfred Portale’s Gotham Grill.  Although I won’t pretend that I can match their presentations, I’ve had very good success with a number of the recipes from that book including rack of lamb, salmon with artichokes and a tuna with pappardelle (to name a few.)  Recently I realized that I had somehow missed his book Simple Pleasures.  It is oriented towards home cooking instead of restaurant cooking and I had to have it.  I’ve been browsing and have found a few things that I want to try (oven roasted mushrooms sound fabulous).

He has a recipe for grilled marinated pork chops that sounded similar to the way I fix veal chops.  I tweaked it a little bit and you could easily adjust to the herbs you like and have handy.  This will definitely be a repeat in the summer when the herbs are fresh from my garden.  I marinated the pork last night which made this ideal for Monday night.  Pop a sweet potato into the oven to bake, grill and serve the pork and dinner is done!  Here is what I did:

Grilled pork chops

  • 1 bone in pork chop per person (his were about 2 inches thick, mine were a good bit smaller)
  • kosher salt and fresh ground pepper
  • 2 medium shallots, minced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 large stalks of rosemary, leaves stripped and chopped
  • 1 small bunch parsley, chopped
  • 1 tsp dried thyme (I would use fresh in the summer)
  • 3 TB olive oil

Put pork chops in a ceramic dish just big enough to hold them.  Season with salt and pepper and then add all other ingredients.  Toss chops well to thoroughly coat and then refrigerate until ready to grill (at least 4 hours and up to overnight).

When ready, grill about 4 – 5 minutes per side per inch of chop.  (My husband grilled ours for 5 minutes a side and said next time, he would go 4.  Serve with side of your choice, we split a baked sweet potato.

 

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

