Sunday pasta party

Christie and I really enjoyed our pasta class.  It was taught by a young woman, Chrissa Carlson who owns and operates Urban Farmhouse in Baltimore.  She is a master gardener and helps her clients create edible landscapes.  The pictures on her website www.urbanfarmhouseonline.com are truly inspirational.   I am embarrassed by how much she is growing in a small space.  I’m sure she could grow enough in my yard to feed a whole neighborhood!  We really enjoyed her class and would definitely sign up for another one.  She also has me thinking about what else I should be growing!

I decided to put my new pasta making skills to the test this afternoon and made two kinds of ravioli.  In hindsight, one kind would have been sufficient.  This would be a good group activity and would go a lot faster with even one more person.  I made spinach and crab ravioli and we are going to try the crab ravioli tomorrow night.  (After all of that pasta making I was glad that we had a simple dinner of bay scallops and zucchini planned tonight.)

The pasta proportions that Chrissa taught us are 1 egg per 1/2 cup flour.  I made a dozen eggs worth in varying size batches.  I rolled it out with flour and the pasta maker and then filled.  I tried three different methods – the very cute ravioli pan that I bought at Williams Sonoma yesterday, the also cute round ravioli cutter that I bought at Williams Sonoma yesterday and the not as cute but extremely efficient cut by hand method.  It will be interesting to see which ones hold together better – all are in the freezer right now.

When you first start with the pasta dough, it looks like this and you believe that it will never turn into anything edible or manageable

Then you start running it through the pasta machine and all of a sudden it is workable.  Here are the two fillings I made:

Crab ravioli

  • 1 pound crabmeat
  • 3/4 cup ricotta cheese
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 minced shallot
  • 1/2 tsp dried tarragon

Mix all ingredients together with a spatula.  Spoon teaspoons of crab into pasta dough and cut.

Spinach ravioli

  • 2 packages frozen chopped spinach, thawed and liquid squeezed out
  • 1 chopped clove garlic
  • 1/2 cup ricotta cheese
  • 3 TB grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 tsp grated nutmeg

Combine all ingredients and spoon into ravioli.

You can see a sheet of my finished raviolis here with examples of all three methods.  Can’t wait to cook some tomorrow and give you a report!

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

