The witches

I needed a simple dinner to free up time for a less than simple Halloween snack for my daughter’s parade and party tomorrow.  When we were at the beach in August, we were in line at the grocery store when my daughter saw a magazine cover with witch snacks.   She was impressed so I took a picture of the magazine cover with my phone.  We attempted to recreate them tonight with a few changes.  The recipe is on the hyperlink.  Although I don’t usually like using any type of mix for a dessert, I conceded that to turn these into cake balls and cover them with stuff for a snack for 6 year olds, it did not make sense to make a cake from scratch so we did use a mix.  I couldn’t bear to use canned frosting – it takes about 3 minutes to make frosting and it doesn’t have all of the chemicals and preservatives that the canned stuff has.  I made frosting with 2 sticks of butter, 3 1/2 cups of confectioner’s sugar, 2 tsp of vanilla and about 1 – 2 tablespoons of milk.  Half of it was combined with the crumbled cake to make the cake balls.  The other half was dyed green with a mix of green and yellow food coloring to frost the finished cake balls.

The recipe calls for coating the ice cream cones with chocolate – I found Oreo ice cream cones that were already the right color.  As is usually the case with these projects, it is not quite as easy and ours do not look quite as good as the picture from the professional test kitchen but Samantha was able to help and I think she is pleased with the snacks for her party.  Here is a picture of the little helper with 2 of the 11 witches (thank goodness she has a small class!):

 

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

