I’m back with a 3 ingredient meal

Sorry for my absence of almost a week – I hope nobody starved.  🙂  Last Wednesday was my birthday so my husband took me out to dinner.  My parents took us out on Thursday and we went to Bethany Beach, Delaware with friends for the weekend (our daughter was off school yesterday for Fall Break.)   Menu plan for the abbreviated week will follow shortly.

While in Bethany we stayed in an oceanside condominium that I had acquired for a few nights in a  charity silent auction.  We took the kids out for ribs on Friday night and sushi on Sunday night.  We wanted to eat in on Saturday but unlike our beach trips in the summer where we are cooking for a week, we were only eating in the one night.  I thought about beach food like crab cakes but did not want to buy staples like flour, Worcestershire sauce, panko, etc. to make one meal.  I wanted something good that required minimal ingredients and used those up.  I opted for a dish that I adapted from a restaurant meal many years ago.  This requires little in the way of equipment, only uses three ingredients and is glamorous enough for company.

Shrimp with spinach and boursin cheese

  • 1 1/2 lbs shrimp (get the largest you can), shelled, deveined and split almost through so they open up
  • 2 packages frozen spinach, defrosted in a colander and squeezed to drain as much water as possible
  • 2 packages Boursin cheese (or light Boursin)

Spread shrimp in a single layer in a glass baking dish (almost every beach place has a Pyrex baking dish).  Combine spinach and Boursin with a spoon and spread over shrimp.  Bake at 400 for 12 – 15 minutes.  Shrimp should be pink.  Serve with cous cous which only needs water.

NOTES: If possible I buy jumbo shrimp which are more stuffable.  I could not find them on this trip so used 21 count shrimp and spread them open and covered with filling.  Critical to the success of this dish is getting as much water out of the spinach as possible.  I let the spinach sit in a colander almost all day and then squeezed it repeatedly to get liquid out.  You can make spinach and Boursin mixture ahead of time, you can also stuff shrimp and refrigerate until ready to cook.  You can also use the spinach and Boursin mix as a stuffing for chicken breasts or as a stuffing for baked mushrooms as an appetizer.

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

