Leftovers or…?

I put Shrimp Cobb salad on the menu plan for tonight knowing that I might have leftovers from our neighborhood party.  I figured since I didn’t buy the shrimp ahead of time, it would be easy to switch out.  We did have leftovers so all I did tonight was move some sesame noodles and Chinese chicken salad to plates.  If you missed this when I blogged it the first time, here is the recipe (you can also add crabmeat if you like):

Seafood Cobb Salad

  • salad greens of your choice (I used mache)
  • 1 minced shallot
  • 3 TB good olive oil
  • 2 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp white wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 10 large shrimp, steamed and peeled
  • 2 hardboiled eggs, chopped
  • 1 tomato, chopped
  • 1 avocado, chopped
  • 4 pieces bacon, cooked until crisp and crumbled
  • 1 oz crumbled blue cheese

Wash and dry salad greens.  Combine shallot, olive oil, white vinegar, lemon juice and Dijon mustard in a small jar and shake well.  Portion salad greens onto plates and top with dressing.  Top with shrimp, egg, avocado, tomato, bacon and blue cheese.  I believe that a traditional Cobb salad has everything lined up in neat rows – I mixed it all together when I ate it but it looks pretty on the plate as is.  Feel free to experiment and substitute different items based on what you like.

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

