Chopped salad

While I was doing the menu plan for the week I remembered that we had not had the grilled chopped salad for a while.  I love a good chopped salad and still miss the chopped Italian salad that they used to serve at Marconi’s restaurant in Baltimore.  Marconi’s was my favorite restaurant and was always my choice for any birthday or occasion.  They had a large menu and always had seasonal specials (I remember soft shell crabs with the best tartar sauce ever, wonderful rockfish and beautiful shad roe with bacon.)  The menu items that were not up for debate or consideration were the Italian chopped salad, the fried eggplant and the hot fudge sundae.

You ordered the Italian chopped salad based on the number of people who would be eating it (in our case, everyone at the table).  The waiter would then bring a wooden bowl filled with the appropriate quantities of ingredients and using two knives would chop the salad back and forth until everything was completely mixed together and all of the pieces were tiny.  That is how I like any salad – you get a complete mix of all of the ingredients in every bite.

There was an article in the food section of the paper about chopped salads – apparently they are enjoying a resurgence in popularity.  I’ve seen two references to Paul Newman saying that a good chopped salad is one you can eat with a spoon.  Our dinner tonight met that criteria.   I grilled the ingredients on our grill pan (with an assist from my husband) and then used two knives to chop everything in little pieces.  As you can see from the picture, Samantha gave the final assist on the tossing.  The salad was delicious.  As my birthday approaches, I only wish that Marconi’s was still there for my special dinner!  😦

Grilled chopped salad

  • Romaine lettuce (2 small or 1 large head), halved lengthwise
  • 2 zucchini, halved lengthwise
  • tomatoes (I used 2 good size tomatoes)
  • 12 extra large shrimp
  • 2 avocados
  • 1/2 lemon
  • 3 TB olive oil
  • 1/8 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 1/8 tsp honey

Brush romaine lettuce, zucchini and shrimp with olive oil and grill.  Cut into large cubes and put in a salad bowl.  Cut avocados and tomatoes into large chunks and add to salad bowl. Add lemon juice, olive oil, honey and Dijon mustard in a small jar and shake to combine.  Pour over vegetable and shrimp mixture and toss to combine.  Serve.

Here is a picture of Samantha helping to toss the salad.  Sadly, she didn’t agree to try it.

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

