Something new

I love cooking shows but have a hard time finding time to watch them.  I record The Barefoot Contessa and Giada and had a backlog in my DVR.  I went on a little binge of watching and got some inspiration as always from The Barefoot Contessa.  She made a warm mushroom salad that sounded good but I felt like I wanted to make a few changes.  Here is what I did:

Warm mushroom salad

  • 1 package arugula, washed and dried
  • 1 package (8 oz) cremini mushrooms, cleaned, stemmed and chopped
  • 8 oz shiitake mushrooms, cleaned, stemmed and chopped
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp butter
  • 2 TB sherry vinegar
  • additional 3 TB olive oil
  • 2 – 3 oz prosciutto, chopped
  • 1 oz good Parmesan, shaved

Mound arugula on plates.  Top with chopped prosciutto.

In a heavy saucepan heat 2 tsp olive oil and butter.   Add chopped mushrooms and saute, stirring occasionally for about 10 minutes.  Add sherry vinegar and remaining olive oil.  Cook about 3 minutes.  Pour mushrooms with oil and vinegar over salad and topped with shavings of Parmesan cheese.

NOTES: This was very quick to fix, my husband liked it and it’s pretty healthy.  It makes a very nice presentation and since you fix each plate individually, it could easily become a vegetarian dinner for one or more of your party by eliminating the Prosciutto.  Ina Garten (The Barefoot Contessa) used only cremini mushrooms – I really like the flavor of the different types of mushrooms.  Use whatever you like.  She added sundried tomatoes but my husband and I both felt that the flavors were sufficiently complex without adding that.  A piece of toasted French bread would make a nice addition.  (We did not need that as we snacked on a few leftover zucchini fritters with chipotle mayonnaise before dinner.)

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

