Birthday night

Our daughter turned 6 today.  My husband is at a conference so she and I had dinner out.  I had a seafood Cobb salad and she had chicken tenders and fries.  I still feel compelled to provide a recipe so I give you (I admit that this is recycled from about a year ago but we have some new followers and it is still good):

Chicken with lime

  • 1 boneless, skinless chicken breast per person or extra for leftovers
  • 1 TB olive oil
  • 1 TB lemon juice
  • 1 TB white wine
  • 1 tsp crushed rosemary
  • 1/4 tsp paprika
  • 1/4 tsp fresh ground pepper
  • 1 lime cut in wedges
Preheat oven to 350.  Put chicken in a ceramic baking dish with olive oil, lemon juice and white wine.  Mix to combine.  Top with rosemary, paprika and pepper.  Bake about 35 – 40 minutes or until a meat thermometer registers 150.  Serve with lime wedges.  Squeeze fresh lime juice onto chicken and eat.
Steamed broccoli 
  • 1 head broccoli, stems cut off
Place a steamer insert into a pot of water.  Bring to a boil over high heat.  Add broccoli and steam 3 – 5 minutes or until tender when poked with a fork.  If you want to be extra healthy, top with freshly squeezed lemon juice.  If you want to indulge a little, top with grated Parmesan cheese.  If you want to indulge even more, top with melted butter and lemon juice.  If you are trying to gain weight (not something I’ve ever needed to do!), get some Hollandaise sauce and go crazy.  🙂
About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

