Girls’ night in

My husband is at a conference so it was just the girls tonight.  We went with simple – eggs.  Samantha had hers poached – she only eats the yolks but at age 6 tomorrow, she doesn’t have to worry about cholesterol.  I had an omelet.  I love omelets – they are easy to make, they are inexpensive and you can put so many things in them.   I have been making omelets since I was a teenager and then adapted my style slightly when I first read The Frugal Gourmet.  He is the one who got me to use water instead of milk (it makes the eggs fluffier) and taught me that you never put salt in the eggs until after the omelet is cooked (it makes the eggs tough).  Here is my method:

Omelet

  • 2 – 3 eggs per person (depending upon filling and how hungry you are)
  • 1 tsp water for every 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp butter
  • filling of your choice (see ideas below)
Whisk together eggs and water.  Heat a shallow pan and add butter when hot.  Pour in eggs.  As edges of eggs set use a spatula to fold them towards the center.  When eggs are almost completely set, add filling and then use a spatula to fold over one half on top of the other.  Cook for another minute to set completely and then serve.  If omelet is a big one, cut into servings.  I find that for more than 3 people, it is easier to do more than one omelet.  Tonight I used Gruyere cheese, arugula and some chopped tomato from the garden.  Here are some other ideas:
Omelet Fillings
  • Cheddar cheese (with or without ham or bacon)
  • Gruyere, Swiss or Jarlsberg cheese with herbs
  • Monterey jack cheese, scallions and chopped tomatoes – top omelet with guacamole
  • Shrimp and/or crabmeat with mild cheese
  • Mushrooms, tomatoes, spinach, onions, peppers in any combination (with or without cheese)

And here is my omelet:

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

