Looks can be deceiving

I was very excited about the new recipe I was making tonight.  I adapted it from a recipe I found in Eating Well magazine.  I really enjoy this magazine as it is sort of a cross between Cooking Light and Gourmet and gives you information about calorie content in addition to lots of nutritional content.   My in-laws have kindly given me a subscription as one of my Christmas gifts for the last few years and I have found some great inspiration in those pages.

Part of my vacation project was going through accumulated cooking magazines and ripping out recipes that inspired me and when I saw their oven-barbecued Asian chicken I thought it sounded great.  I made the marinade last night and marinated the chicken overnight because we had the snowball social for back to school tonight.  I was pleased with my advanced preparation and looking forward to the dish.  My husband cooked the chicken before I got home from work and when I walked in the house, the kitchen smelled amazing.  The chicken looked beautiful – don’t you agree?

The disappointment was that it didn’t taste as flavorful as I expected.  I’m used to the Hoisin pork that we make often and this just did not have the same impact.  Full disclosure – we did let the chicken sit until we got home from the snowball social and it might have tasted better hot, but I must be honest, this is not on the repeat soon list.  If you make it, I would consider doubling the hoisin sauce.   (On the bright side, your kitchen will smell fabulous!)

Barbecued Asian Chicken

  • chicken breasts – we used 1 each, bone in
  • 4 scallions, minced
  • 1/4 cup hoisin sauce (as noted above, consider doubling)
  • 1 TB minced ginger
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/2 tsp Chinese five-spice powder

Combine all ingredients other than chicken in a bowl.  Toss marinade with chicken and refrigerate until ready to serve – I’d recommend at least 4 hours and up to overnight.  Preheat oven to 350 and bake 45 – 55 minutes or until done.  Serve with rice.

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

